Ode to the Night

It is amazing how the night always invokes thoughts which reside deep inside our minds. Night has always been very glamorous for me because of the stretch my imagination has, during these nocturnal hours that leaves me bewitched.

My life has seen many such nights and my thought have flown freely through them. These few hours almost every time invokes a new different feeling in me. Each night distinctively different from other, plucking different moods each time.

 

I have always been very conscious about the role of night in my life because that’s when things change. And also that’s when I can do what I do best..Over think 🙂

To one such fathomless night is this Poem dedicated to.

O NIGHT

O night,

you are truly my Lover.

Pulling me closer in your embrace

 

O night,

you truly are my friend.

Untold secrets resound in your presence

 

O night,

Tell me,

How deep is your depth

Let me explore

How noisy is that breath

be heard, I implore.

That, when all sound recedes

I hear you squeak loud

Resonates in around the crowd

beseeching me to be more profound

 

How less I know of you

more fond I grow of you

 

O night

when you are at full glory

you scathe the wounds

and seems more gory

Than it was when the war was brutal

The scars of acceptance and rebuttal

 

O night

you know me like no one does

you have seen my joy

seen those laughs die

you have seen me ponder

you have seen me cry

 

O night

have you never thought

Why I lay on you to soak me dry

of all worries I deny

In the wake of day

 

O night

you truly are my lover

I seek myself in your embrace.

-Sumi

4 thoughts on “Ode to the Night

  1. Yes nature also cleans itself from all toxins in night, so night is aware of one’s doing in the day or life one can say. Nicely taken the subject. Loved.

    Like

Leave a comment