Breaking the UNpoetic Monotony

On any other day this would have been as normal a day as it could be.I would have woken up joined the endless home-work-home saga, gone through the entire day in the same break-less monotony. But no, that’s not today. I decided to start my blog (After having been pestered a zillion times over to get the writer in me out there, by people who actually know that I write and love to do so).

 

After wondering for several hours, days and months over why and how I should start building my blog I came to know is that all that I am doing is just sitting round the corner and pondering, when it was action that is the need of the hour. Today could be just the day I would add some glamour to my already brimming personality :). The reason why I today have started to use my pen than my words (keyboard actually :P) is that today of all days has been the most irritatingly normal day. And I started thinking of how I could break this and go on to add a dimension in my life. It wouldn’t have been more apt than going in and putting my thoughts out in public.

 

There are really many things I would like to blog about but the one thing that completely compels me to start off with is one of my flares and my passions : POEMS.

 

I have been a poet for like forever. I Have had a few of them win awards for me too, So am sure I am not too bad at it. But I do realize from the very start that this is one field that had been my calling and also this field might be one of the most least adored ones too.

 

Poets have been the ones to express their feelings in most beautiful way possible that would even touch your lives like no one ever had. They seem to form words out of feelings you thought couldn’t be expressed, written and sung out loud. They however happen to be one of the most neglected species too. I wouldn’t say I have as much as even started reading other poems (For I would definitely know my true position post that :P). But most importantly they are not revered to be artists as they truly are. Yes! of course, who else would put those awesome lyrics in those songs and make u swoon to it.

 

Classically, Poems were classified by Aristotle into 3 categories : epic, comic and tragic which later had become  epic poetry, lyric poetry and dramatic poetry. The legacy of Aristotle and more poets to come through generations are really unsung. For a long time I hardly knew people used to be famous for their poems in old times except for some lyricists that are popular mainly because of the mainstream cinema. We armatures are however spared the horror of being judged on the qualities of our essence but nonetheless however stand true to feel of the subject we choose to elevate. Poems have always been the language of my angst, love, jealousy, delight and all various colours of emotions in my life.

 

I had many notions about posting my poems online, as they hold some of my very spirit I have never been open to unfold in front of anyone. I however today am breaking all my reservations of posting my poems (that I hold close to myself) online. So here goes my first poem which belong to the category of being lost in my own sadness..

Title : How I wish

 

There is only so much patience in me
To hold myself from crying
There is only so much of will I got
To hold this breath from dying
There is only so much curse in a wounded spirit
To get me into praying

How glad this flesh felt to be free
Of the bondage invisible
How easily I slept in glee
Wen mind grew only feeble

How I wish I was born the other gender
N erase those sentences each time
Wen every curse occurs to me like a blunder
Spoken reveals a crime

How I wish I had healed perfectly
But damages are beyond repairs
How I wish past went off instantly
And attitudes never had those airs

How I wish I abandoned my fate
To the hands of someones future
Run as if I never would hate
Myself for inflicting that torture

How I thought it was me writing my story
Wen all the way it wasn’t
How I wish it was little less gory
And the fact that it couldn’t

How I wish I had those silvered spoons in my mouth
To spare me all this gloating
How I know that am all but stout
Still when I should be floating

How I wish all arms would open to greetings
Words of which I didn’t construct
How I have replayed these meetings
Who faced my anger of destruct

How I wish I wasnt so crooked
To lay straight all along
How I know that straightness’ crooked
N play it all along

How I wish this poem wasn’t that unhappy
As how I feel this moment
How I know I get this catchy
Only to those who stay unknown

 

-Sumi Bose

19 thoughts on “Breaking the UNpoetic Monotony

  1. I am UNexpressive to show my gladness, happy for your achievement, hope you will achieve what others feared to achieve. Person’s grit is proved when one dares the faith of Horror. God bless you in your endeavours.

    Like

  2. I am UNexpressive to show my gladness. You have started the cause of all poets and your inner cravings. Carry on, your endeavour, may God bless you. I know you have the grit to follow a path of your own fearlessly.

    Like

  3. Hey nice poem Sumo and congrats on your first blog! I know you can talk (well, curse but its kinda the same thing :P) well but didn’t know you could write this well. 😉

    Like

  4. Nice one..
    It triggers a thought process in the mind.
    Going through each line, a different and linked thought comes up.
    And yes it doesn’t have a monotone.
    Brood over the lines and the thought process will take the thinker much deeper.
    Probably may be urge him to draw out some conclusions from the thought process commenced by the poem.

    Like

Leave a comment